cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plant Photography

arleigh
Apprentice

I am a retired nurse.  I spend my time studying 500 Carolina Native Plants.  I have been photographing them with a Canon PowerShot SX100 IS.  This has done a good job for me.  Yesterday I was at a protected site and photographed some very rare plants.  On the way back to the car it started to rain.  My camera got wet.  Later I noticed that the lens was half open and half closed.  I can not get it to retract fully.

I think I may need to get a new camera.  I am on a fixed income so I cannot afford to buy the top of the line.  Somewhere around $200 is what I have in mind.  Does Canon make a camera that would meet my requirements?  The only problem I have had with my old camera is that the controls are too sesitive for me.  I cannot easily manually adjust the settings using just the little multi-function dial.

6 REPLIES 6

pjmacd
Enthusiast

Welcome, Arleigh.  It's clear that you are dedicated to an important project, so let's ask a few questions about what you want to accomplish.

1. Do you need macro capability? (i.e. extreme close-up of the plant)
  2. Do you need to use a flash?
  3. Do you care about the plant being in sharp focus while the background is a soft, out-of-focus blur?
  4. Do you need telephoto capability? (i.e. can you get close to the plants or do you need to shoot them from far away - say, 10 feet or more)

If you can answer these questions for us, I'm sure we can give more targeted advice.

Macro capacity is very important.  I almost never use a flash.  I understand the concept of bringng the subject into sharp focus and letting the background blur out, but I have not tried to acheive that effect.  My old camera had a zoom which allowed me to photograph birds and animals from a distance, but I would prefer to get close to the plants.