cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Whcih camera?

Jlzsan
Apprentice
Hi i am new to taking pictures and am looking into purchasing a new camera. I would like a good camera for taking sports/ motion pics indoor and outdoor. I am not camera savy by any means. We have had a nikon coolpic, and a cannon powershot not crazy about either. I would like one that can wirelessly transfer pics online. Where do i start? Thanks
3 REPLIES 3

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

Do you have a budget in mind?

Sports and action photography is probably the most demanding because it wants a camera and lenses with very fast focusing performance and preferablly a pretty good continuous shooting frame rate.

Video is a bit easier... most cameras can do video now.

When I first read your post, I tought it had "Canon 70D" written all over it.   The 70D has the same focusing system previosly found on the 7D (19 cross-type AF points) and a continuous shooting speed of 7 frames per second.  ALSO... it does a particuarly good job with auto-focus in video because it has Canon's new dual pixel AF which is able to do fast and continuous phase-detect focusing directly on the imaging sensor (previously no DSLR could do that -- so this is a big leap forward.)  Also... it has built-in WiFi.

But as you mention your previous cameras were Nikon & Canon point & shoot models, this would be a big jump for you both in camera size as well as price tag.  It's about $1200 body only and about $1350 to $1550 for the body with one of the two kit lenses (18-55 or 18-135mm).