cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New camera suggestions (advanced photographers)

jmarion
Apprentice

Hello all, I'm Jennifer!

I'm currently looking for a new camera since my EOS 50D finally bit the dust. I am a fine art photographer working to get my masters in the field so I take photography very seriously. I have a couple lenses for my camera such as a Rokinon 50 mm (I think that's right..this was a hand me down and the info is worn off) and a canon zoom lens EF 16-35mm. I would like to be able to use my lenses with the new camera but would love some feedback from others whom have been in my postion. Lately I've been looking at buying a canon full frame mirrorless camera but am afraid I won't be able to use my lenses with it. Please any suggestions would be appreciated! I'm trying to keep the price at 3,000 max.

Thank you

9 REPLIES 9

rs-eos
Elite
Elite

I'm not familiar with Rokinon, but am assuming it has an EF mount (vs. EF-S).

Anyhow, if both lenses are EF mount, you can get an adapter for any of Canon's RF mount mirroless offerings (e.g. R6, R5).

Did you absolutely need mirrorless? I'm wondering if it would be worth it to pick up say a 5D Mark IV which is now around 2,400 USD (same as an EOS R6).

Then again, if you go with the mirrorless line, you could eventually move to RF lenses.

--
Ricky

Camera: EOS 5D IV, EF 50mm f/1.2L, EF 135mm f/2L
Lighting: Profoto Lights & Modifiers

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

Canon makes adapters for your lenses that will let them be used on a mirrorless R camera.

At this time it is right on the edge as to whether to get mirrorless or DSLR.

Look hard at the 90D. If that doesn't seem to meet your needs, look at mirrorless.

jmarion
Apprentice
Mirrorless isn't a must. Right now I'm debating between the 90d and the 6D Mark ii. I really like the idea of having a full frame camera but I do occasionally shoot video..so its a tough decision.

@jmarion wrote: