Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
VIP
Posts: 8,870
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Internal Focus Stacking


@Hazardous wrote:

Why this feature is not introduced in the EOS R but is availble in the EOS RP is beyond me. I would think this would be a feature they would provide in a more advanced camera such as the R. 


Why is having this focus bracketing feature so important?  It does not produce a fina image in the camera.  You have to combine the captured images in DPP.  I would think setting it up might take more time than just pointing the camera and turning the focus ring yourself.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎10-19-2019

Re: Internal Focus Stacking


@Waddizzle wrote:

@Hazardous wrote:

Why this feature is not introduced in the EOS R but is availble in the EOS RP is beyond me. I would think this would be a feature they would provide in a more advanced camera such as the R. 


Why is having this focus bracketing feature so important?  It does not produce a fina image in the camera.  You have to combine the captured images in DPP.  I would think setting it up might take more time than just pointing the camera and turning the focus ring yourself.


Focus bracketing is something the camera will do automatically. In order for me to to perfom the same steps it takes a lot more time to produce. I know users who perform focus bracketing with up to 20 photos just to ensure they get all the correct sharpness on all elements of the subject. In order for me to perform the same task would take a long time.

VIP
Posts: 8,870
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Internal Focus Stacking

[ Edited ]

@Hazardous wrote:

@Waddizzle wrote:

@Hazardous wrote:

Why this feature is not introduced in the EOS R but is availble in the EOS RP is beyond me. I would think this would be a feature they would provide in a more advanced camera such as the R. 


Why is having this focus bracketing feature so important?  It does not produce a fina image in the camera.  You have to combine the captured images in DPP.  I would think setting it up might take more time than just pointing the camera and turning the focus ring yourself.


Focus bracketing is something the camera will do automatically. In order for me to to perfom the same steps it takes a lot more time to produce. I know users who perform focus bracketing with up to 20 photos just to ensure they get all the correct sharpness on all elements of the subject. In order for me to perform the same task would take a long time.


How do you know it will save you time?  Have you ever used it before?

 

I ask because I do not see how it saves time.  it takes the same amount of time to get the camera focused to take the first shot in a sequence.  Once the camera an initial focus is set, you can either begin manually shooting a sequence, or go into the menus and set up the focus bracketing sequence.  You have to figure out how far to [automatically] move focus on each shot.

 

You could probably save time if you have to shoot a number of sequences back to back, assuming that they could use the same focus bracketing sequence set up.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎10-19-2019

Re: Internal Focus Stacking

[ Edited ]

@Waddizzle wrote:

@Hazardous wrote:

@Waddizzle wrote:

@Hazardous wrote:

Why this feature is not introduced in the EOS R but is availble in the EOS RP is beyond me. I would think this would be a feature they would provide in a more advanced camera such as the R. 


Why is having this focus bracketing feature so important?  It does not produce a fina image in the camera.  You have to combine the captured images in DPP.  I would think setting it up might take more time than just pointing the camera and turning the focus ring yourself.


Focus bracketing is something the camera will do automatically. In order for me to to perfom the same steps it takes a lot more time to produce. I know users who perform focus bracketing with up to 20 photos just to ensure they get all the correct sharpness on all elements of the subject. In order for me to perform the same task would take a long time.


How do you know it will save you time?  Have you ever used it before?

 

I ask because I do not see how it saves time.  it takes the same amount of time to get the camera focused to take the first shot in a sequence.  Once the camera an initial focus is set, you can either begin manually shooting a sequence, or go into the menus and set up the focus bracketing sequence.  You have to figure out how far to [automatically] move focus on each shot.

 

You could probably save time if you have to shoot a number of sequences back to back, assuming that they could use the same focus bracketing sequence set up.


Yes you do have to focus the camera initially of course. However I fail to see how setting up the focusing sequence and allowung the electronics of the camera to do the job is not faster than manually focusing multiple times to get all the required shots. As I stated I know others who have this capability in their camera already and it is a feature that should be available if someone so chooses to go that route. If others prefer to manual focus with multple photos that's fine. I however would like the option to choose. the EOS RP currently has the capability while the higher priced EOS R does not. 

VIP
Posts: 8,870
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Internal Focus Stacking


@Hazardous wrote:

@Waddizzle wrote:

@Hazardous wrote:

@Waddizzle wrote:

@Hazardous wrote:

Why this feature is not introduced in the EOS R but is availble in the EOS RP is beyond me. I would think this would be a feature they would provide in a more advanced camera such as the R. 


Why is having this focus bracketing feature so important?  It does not produce a fina image in the camera.  You have to combine the captured images in DPP.  I would think setting it up might take more time than just pointing the camera and turning the focus ring yourself.


Focus bracketing is something the camera will do automatically. In order for me to to perfom the same steps it takes a lot more time to produce. I know users who perform focus bracketing with up to 20 photos just to ensure they get all the correct sharpness on all elements of the subject. In order for me to perform the same task would take a long time.


How do you know it will save you time?  Have you ever used it before?

 

I ask because I do not see how it saves time.  it takes the same amount of time to get the camera focused to take the first shot in a sequence.  Once the camera an initial focus is set, you can either begin manually shooting a sequence, or go into the menus and set up the focus bracketing sequence.  You have to figure out how far to [automatically] move focus on each shot.

 

You could probably save time if you have to shoot a number of sequences back to back, assuming that they could use the same focus bracketing sequence set up.


Yes you do have to focus the camera initially of course. However I fail to see how setting up the focusing sequence and allowung the electronics of the camera to do the job is not faster than manually focusing multiple times to get all the required shots. As I stated I know others who have this capability in their camera already and it is a feature that should be available if someone so chooses to go that route. If others prefer to manual focus with multple photos that's fine. I however would like the option to choose. the EOS RP currently has the capability while the higher priced EOS R does not. 


I will take that as "no".  You have never used it before.  Yet, you claimed that it would save you time.  I fail to see how you can make that claim having never used the feature before.  Thanks, that's all I wanted to know.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎10-19-2019

Re: Internal Focus Stacking


@Waddizzle wrote:

@Hazardous wrote:

@Waddizzle wrote:

@Hazardous wrote:

@Waddizzle wrote:

@Hazardous wrote:

Why this feature is not introduced in the EOS R but is availble in the EOS RP is beyond me. I would think this would be a feature they would provide in a more advanced camera such as the R. 


Why is having this focus bracketing feature so important?  It does not produce a fina image in the camera.  You have to combine the captured images in DPP.  I would think setting it up might take more time than just pointing the camera and turning the focus ring yourself.


Focus bracketing is something the camera will do automatically. In order for me to to perfom the same steps it takes a lot more time to produce. I know users who perform focus bracketing with up to 20 photos just to ensure they get all the correct sharpness on all elements of the subject. In order for me to perform the same task would take a long time.


How do you know it will save you time?  Have you ever used it before?

 

I ask because I do not see how it saves time.  it takes the same amount of time to get the camera focused to take the first shot in a sequence.  Once the camera an initial focus is set, you can either begin manually shooting a sequence, or go into the menus and set up the focus bracketing sequence.  You have to figure out how far to [automatically] move focus on each shot.

 

You could probably save time if you have to shoot a number of sequences back to back, assuming that they could use the same focus bracketing sequence set up.


Yes you do have to focus the camera initially of course. However I fail to see how setting up the focusing sequence and allowung the electronics of the camera to do the job is not faster than manually focusing multiple times to get all the required shots. As I stated I know others who have this capability in their camera already and it is a feature that should be available if someone so chooses to go that route. If others prefer to manual focus with multple photos that's fine. I however would like the option to choose. the EOS RP currently has the capability while the higher priced EOS R does not. 


I will take that as "no".  You have never used it before.  Yet, you claimed that it would save you time.  I fail to see how you can make that claim having never used the feature before.  Thanks, that's all I wanted to know.


Do you personally make a habit of arguing with everyone? This post wasn't directed at you yet you feel the need to voice your opinion. Why don't you leave the responses to those have an interest in the subject matter. Obviously you're retired and have a lot of time on your hands. I've only been involved in a couple of posts and yet magically Wadizzle appears on both of them to argue that he is right and everyone else is wrong. 

VIP
Posts: 8,870
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Internal Focus Stacking

@Hazardous

I was not arguing with you.  I asked you a simple question.  How do you know that it will save you time?  I have a genuine interest in the feature as I occasionally have a need to stack a series of macro shots taking photos of coins.

 

Obviously, you had no good answer because you really do not know if it will save you any time.  You have never used it before.  Besides, you are the one who stuck your neck by declaring every camera should have this feature.  I simply asked why.  

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎10-19-2019

Re: Internal Focus Stacking


@Waddizzle wrote:

@Hazardous

I was not arguing with you.  I asked you a simple question.  How do you know that it will save you time?  I have a genuine interest in the feature as I occasionally have a need to stack a series of macro shots taking photos of coins.

 

Obviously, you had no good answer because you really do not know if it will save you any time.  You have never used it before.  Besides, you are the one who stuck your neck by declaring every camera should have this feature.  I simply asked why.  


I'm not trying to argue with you on this. Have I ever used the feature? No as I do not have a camera that supports it. I have seen it's usefulness and I just feel that it's something that can easily be incorporated into a firmware update for the EOS R. I gave the suggestion directly to Canon and the person I spoke with agreed with me. As for if it will ever happen, I guess we shall see.

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-13-2019

Re: Internal Focus Stacking

Hello everyone,

 

I have SEEN how the Nikon shoots the multiple focus points and have SEEN the output.  I couldn't be any quicker.  I wouldn't need extra software or any gadgets to ge the job done.  Don't get me wrong, I LOVE my Canon equipment and have no plans of switching BUT in my humble opinion Canon is lacking in this area.  Being a macro shooter (where front to back is in focus) would be an AWESOME addition.  Hey just my personal choice.  I use software all the software as well.......just saying it would make things much easier for me.  In todays day and age, everyone is looking for a LIGHTER camera that can accomplish a multitude of tasks without extra gadgets.  I will always use software but to have internal FOCUS stacking and then compiling in camera would be wonderful.  Have a great day everyone.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement