cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What Is The Ideal Camera For A College Student Photographer?

ParkerP04
Apprentice

Hello everyone! My name is Parker Pelletier, and I am a paid student photographer at Trine University in Angola, Indiana. I got hired onto the campus marketing / photography team last September. I always took photos on my phone, but one of the main campus photographers saw some of my photos and had numerous compliments about them. I then got hired to take pictures of events around campus, and that same campus photographer keeps complimenting me on my photos. I never honestly thought that I had the potential to become a photographer; however, according to a lot of people, my work is amazing. Currently, I use a camera supported by Trine University; however, I REALLY want my own camera. 

My question to all of you is what camera should I get to further my photography? I have been looking at the Canon EOS Rebel T7, yet I am not sure if that is the best for the current position I am in. 

**As a college student, I am looking at cheaper models if possible**

Thanks!

7 REPLIES 7

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

Greetings,

Welcome to the forum.  Can you please assign an actual budget to "cheaper or (less expensive) models if possible.

Without that we really don't have a solid point to start from.  What camera are you being sponsored with now?

~Rick
Bay Area - CA

~R5 C (1.0.6.1) ~RF Trinity, ~RF 100 Macro, ~RF 100~400, ~RF 100~500, +RF 1.4x TC, +Canon Control Ring, BG-R10, 430EX III-RT ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~DaVinci Resolve ~Windows11 Pro ~ImageClass MF644Cdw/MF656Cdw ~Pixel 8
~CarePaks Are Worth It

I know that the Rebel T7 is in the $500 range, so probably something less than or equal to that. Now, I am using a Canon Rebel T5. It is a nice camera, but it belongs to the university, and I think it would be beneficial to have my own. 

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

Greetings,