cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Torn Between 70D and 7D

SpiderRyno
Contributor

So all summer I had been waiting to upgrade from my t3i to a 7D, I had been saving pulling money etc. anyway, now they released the 70D, and i've only been into serious photography for a year and a half now. I know the benefits of a 7D(shot with it for a while, borrowed.) Yet, just when I was aobut to purchase it, the 70D comes out of nowhere and I start reseraching, and save the AFpoints, it seems that the 70D is jsut as good, if not eventually better than the 7D(one the mark 2 comes out). I'm unsure, and torn as to which one I should get. I eventually am going to upgrade to 5D mark 3, or that's the hope. At the moment though I'm a college student, so saving that much is hard.

her's a few things I'm considering(the 1 FPS difference doens't matter so much to me.) 

1.Racing

2. Basketball

3. Football

4. portraits

(Top 4 things I shoot)

I also shoot low-light soemtimes, i know the ISO on the 70D(from what I heard) seems to shoot better. though I mean basketball is basically daylight inside. 

Any advice would be great. 

16 REPLIES 16

cicopo
Elite

It's a tough call because many of us know how the 7D did at various venues but from the things I've read the 70D may do better but that remains to be seen. If & when the 7D mark 2 (or whatever it will be called) is announced there will be a wait for it to hit the shelves & based on past pricing it will be considerably more expensive than the current 7D. I'd hold back & watch the real world reviews for a bit. 

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

That's what I've been hearing about the 7D mark 2. I am holding out for it, hopefully it will be a bit cheaper. 

I've read reviews, what I really wish is that Canon would give more info on how it does with stills, since they've been pushing more video when it comes to the 70D