cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

T7i - Beginner macro photography challenges

ravinat
Contributor

I bought a T7i recently and I wanted to try macro photography (I am a landscape photographer). I bought a macro extender tube in Amazon and also a Yongnua 50 mm prime lens. 

The prime lens attached tot he T7i is great and works fine at different aperture settings from 1.8 to 22. 

When I attach the extender tube, and the prime lens to it, I am unable to change the aperture as there seems to be no way to do that on a Yongnua. I saw some recommendation that you can lock the aperture by doing a DoF preview. I did that and then when I remove the lens and attach the extender+lens,, the camera now allows me to manually focus, but not change the aperture.

Any suggestions?

17 REPLIES 17

@ravinat wrote:

I bought a T7i recently and I wanted to try macro photography (I am a landscape photographer). I bought a macro extender tube in Amazon and also a Yongnua 50 mm prime lens. 

The prime lens attached tot he T7i is great and works fine at different aperture settings from 1.8 to 22. 

When I attach the extender tube, and the prime lens to it, I am unable to change the aperture as there seems to be no way to do that on a Yongnua. I saw some recommendation that you can lock the aperture by doing a DoF preview. I did that and then when I remove the lens and attach the extender+lens,, the camera now allows me to manually focus, but not change the aperture.

Any suggestions?

Return the lens and extension tube, and buy a Canon 60mm f/2.8 macro lens.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

I will perhaps do that after I am sure if I want to be a macro photographer. This is a small $30 experiment and if that works I do not mind spending another $520 on the expensive Canon lens. 

Can someone suggest ways with my current equipment?

"Can someone suggest ways with my current equipment?"