cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 Spots in outdoor photos

MSchramp763
Apprentice

I am an amateur photographer but busy photographer, taking a lot of photos for events in and around work and school. I notice that occasionally I will find spots on my photos when I use my EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 lens, especially when I have been taking outdoor photos for a while. They always appear in the upper half of my photo (and usually are of the sky). The spots either go away or are not noticeable when I start taking photos outside or take photos indoors. Any care or cleaning suggestions? Thanks in advance!

IMG_1727.JPGIMG_4588.JPG

8 REPLIES 8

FloridaDrafter
Authority
Authority

Hello, MSchramp, and welcome to the forum!

It's just dust or some other debris on the AA filter that is part of your image sensor. It gets on there usually when you change or remove your lens but can also get sucked in when zooming, particularly on non weather sealed lenses.

You can minimize it by holding your camera face down when removing the lens. You can also use a Rocket blower, whenever you change your lens, and blow a few puffs of air into the sensor box (hold it face down when cleaning). Truth be told, those spots are probably in other places, but really are more obvious in the sky (lighter solid color). It [dust] will also be more visible with different apertures, so as your aperture changes, the spots will be less/more visible. The built in sensor cleaning feature will remove most and may be why you see it come and go as you turn your camera on and off, but sometimes you have to give it some help with a rocket blower. If you have stubborn spots, you may need a sensor brush or swab, but that is usually not needed.

Newton

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend