cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Second Camera?

HPL
Enthusiast

I shoot special events, weddings, corporate functions, livestock, and wildlife.  I have been shooting a couple of EOS 30D's for several years but just purchased a 7D MKII.  I am somewhat torn as to what to get for my second camera now.  Should I just go with another 7DMkII or should I go with something like the 6D?  ? I've been shooting two matching bodies for quite a while now and it does make things really simple, but a full frame body would have a noticabel effect on the way my lenses see.   Any thooughts?

9 REPLIES 9

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

Normally a full frame camera will have noticeably better ISO performance (low noise at high ISO) although the 7D II seems to be getting good reviews in ISO performance.

What you'll mostly experience is the difference that full-frame offers... e.g. the angle of view will be wider for all lenses and that means you'll be likely to stand closer to compose a shot given the same focal length lens.  That "standing closer" behavior can be used to create shallower depth of field and stronger background blur.

If you have any EF-S lenses then you wouldn't be able to use them with a full-frame body -- you didn't mention anything about lenes in your question so I'm just throwing that out there in case it's a consideration for you.

The focus system on the 7D II is very different than the 6D.  The 6D has an 11 point AF system which resembles the typical 9 point system... except they squeeze in two more points left and right of the center point.  And of course the 6D wont come anywhere close to the continuous shooting speed of the 7D II.

Tim Campbell
5D III, 5D IV, 60Da

@HPL wrote: