cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rebel T5i, best zoom lens for upcoming press trip to Galapagos

JoanneYenn
Contributor

I am a travel writer and will be taking part in a press trip this March to the Galapagos islands. I recently upgraded from a T1i Rebel to a T5i with a Canon 18-135 zoom lens, and am loving the quality of the images.  However, I believe I do need a stronger zoom to capture close ups on this trip. Caveat:  I am much more of a writer than a photographer, to be sure, but these days, editors want your own photos to accompany articles, so I am truly learning the trade as I go along. I need an easy, light, and SHARP lens, within a budget.

I didn't come to this site before doing an extensive on-line search for recommendations. Despite my efforts to come to a consensus, I am getting so many varied recommendations, I thought I would reach out to the kind photography experts on this site who graciously donate their time to help neophytes like myself. THANK YOU in advance for your guidance.

Here is what I gleaned from a week-long search:

All these zoom models seem to have good reviews:

Tamron AF 18-270mm f/3.5-6.3 VC PZD All-In-One Zoom Lens for Canon DSLR, Model BOO8E Filter Size 062mm

Sigma 18-250mm f3.5-6.3 DC MACRO OS HSM for Canon Digital SLR Cameras

Canon 70-200mm f/2.8

Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 DG Macro Telephoto Zoom Lens for Canon SLR Cameras

The Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8 lens also got stellar reviews, but how would that improve upon my current EFS 18-135 mm lens (which is awesome!I ) I don't know how close I will get to wildlife, so that is an issue. Another issue is the fact that I need to travel light--backpack and carry-on, and cannot bring a slew of lenses with me. 

I would be so grateful for some directions from experts. 

Thank you so much for your feedback. This forum is wonderful, and I appreciate it very much!

12 REPLIES 12

MikeSowsun
Authority
Authority