cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

R3/R5/R6/R7 IBIS RUINS footage shot at wide focal lengths, I would love software changes, Canon!

EngineerKyle
Contributor

After a year of using the Canon R5 as my primary video workhorse, I am not one to ignore the suggestion that this camera has many idiosyncrasies. I originally switched to this camera due to its excellent autofocus and Raw video capabilities. I wish I could say that I also love the IBIS because there are occasions when it is exceptional. For video, however, it can be more of a curse than a blessing, and I happen to have discovered some workarounds that I would love to share with the community of Canon shooters and perhaps Canon themselves.

Having experience as a technical operations programmer, I am aware that implementing software-level changes for hardware is often a highly complex process. As users, we must consider that when desiring changes to our gear. In many ways, I am more of a technician/engineer than a filmmaker, and I'm sure Canon is tired of hearing criticism from videographers who don't know how the technology even functions under the hood. 

With that out of the way, I have developed some ideas that enable users to "trick" the ibis system into working more effectively for video mode. Upon evaluating this fix, Canon may have some insight into a potential software-level fix that would not require a complete re-engineering of the IBIS mechanism. 

Anyways, here's what over a year of attempting to repair the IBIS for my own use cases has shown: