cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Press shutter nothing happens on 70D

Plwysong18
Apprentice
Camera is a Canon 70D. I was in my boat taking photos of birds along the river. There was a bright sun and I would press the shutter halfway down and nothing. Then sometimes out of the blue it would take a picture. I was in auto one shot mode. I'm still learning and I don't know what I'm doing completely. I just didn't understand why the picture would not take. I have read online low light causes that but there was bright sun.
6 REPLIES 6

diverhank
Authority

Usually when the camera fails to focus on something, it won't take a picture.  The camera has problem focusing when there is no contrast at the focus point, not because of low light.  Usually you have problem with low light is because there is little contrast in that situation.  In your case, aiming at the sky, even though it's bright, there is no contrast (everything is equally bright).

================================================
Diverhank's photos on Flickr

Plwysong18
Apprentice
But I took dozens of other pictures of the water with the sky in the background and they were beautiful. In these photos I was aiming at trees and large birds that were sitting in trees. A lot of times it wouldn't even take the picture or it took the picture in the trees were perfectly and focus but the bird was blurry .

Tim
Authority

Hello Plwysong18,