cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Noisy Images with Canon R6 (Concert Photography)

sandrajamphoto
Contributor

Hi all,

I’m a concert photographer and I recently upgraded from the Canon 5D Mark IV to the Canon R6, mainly for improved focus capabilities (like the advanced eye tracking) and the ability to shoot in lower light with a high ISO. I’ve heard that with a mirrorless body like the R6, photos can be taken at an ISO of up to 10,000 (or higher) without an insane amount of noise.

I shot a concert a few days ago and noticed that my photos were significantly more grainy with the R6 than with my 5D Mark IV DSLR camera. Below are three RAW files for reference (both shot under ISO 3000). Am I doing something wrong?? I feel like my settings were standard but the photos are so noisy. I can’t even imagine what they would look like at an ISO of 6,000+. Thanks in advance for any help!!!!

Note: I used a Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM lens with the EF to EOS R adapter. 

Example 1: https://drive.google.com/file/d/10MEWSx2XwPWHHPm5jBQBcQH5GawK76Df/view?usp=sharing 

Example 2: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1U1l3W596U3bSkVydbmC60M_qVcr-rxb7/view?usp=sharing 

Example 3: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1IGxqTkv_Tg7qpxQWV8ydOUUFO5TBhlXQ/view?usp=sharing 

11 REPLIES 11

Peter
Authority
Authority

Skärmbild från 2023-07-17 09-39-05.png

Dark and not so much light in green channel due to the light source. This is without a tone curve applied.

Thanks for looking into it! Is there a reason that his face looks so grainy at ISO 1600 though? Should I have went up to 3000 or higher since it was so dark? I usually underexpose and then fix everything in post but this RAW is so noisy to start with.

R6 is "ISOless" from ISO 1600. Using the same exposure at ISO 1600 + 1 EV in post or same exposure at ISO 3200 should give you the same noise. Feel free to try at home. You can try ISO 1600 + 2 EV in post vs ISO 6400 also.