cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Native ISO of Canon Rebel T7?

jerryco
Apprentice

I'm an amature photographer/videographer and I've done a lot of research into how cameras work and their funtionalities, and I came across something called Native ISO. I usually try to keep my ISO at 100, only going higher if absolutaly necessary. If I can learn about what my camera's native ISO is that would really benefit my work. I've looked for it myself, and I can't find it, which is why I'm turning to this forum. Any help would really be appreciated

3 REPLIES 3

Tintype_18
Authority
Authority

Haven't a clue what you are talking about. Where did you read that? Regarding ISO, I read the manual for specific uses and experiment/experimented with ISO to get the best photo. Worse comes to worse, put the ISO on Auto and let the camera decide. IMO, I think you are complicating the use of ISO.

John
Canon EOS T7; EF-S 18-55mm IS; EF 28-135mm IS; EF 75-300mm; Sigma 150-600mm DG

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

I believe the ISO you are looking for in most of the Canon DSLRs is ISO 800.  Here is a layman’s explanation of native ISO and base ISO from Adorama TV.

https://youtu.be/vX531qzdiB0?si=Q4x9fjEj5r_sLXso 

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

rs-eos
Elite

Do check out the video that Waddizzle posted.  It explains that native ISO is the default (non-extended) range of ISO values.

However, in doing my own experiments, I would add that it may be the case where native ISO could only be those on full stop increments.

When I conducted an experiement with the Rebel T4i, images captured at ISO 200, 400 etc, provided less noise than when using ISO 160, 320, etc.  And about the same noise as ISO 125 and ISO 250.

Not sure if your Rebel T7 also does the same.  You'd have to conduct your own experiment.