cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Many Flash Questions for Rebel SL3

Ches05
Apprentice

I'm pretty new to flash photography, so I'm looking into speedlites, triggers and the like but I have so many questions with no articles to answer them.

Does anyone know what specific canon speedlites I can use on the SL3? (I'm looking at the 550EX and 580EXII), What trigger is compatible with the SL3? I would also like to know, if there is a trigger compatible, can I use canon speedlites such as the 550EX or 580EXII as a slave to it?

Also I've heard that even without the center pin, canon dedicated speedlites still work, does it still have full functionality? Can I use it in manual mode? If so, in that mode can I have a multiple canon speedlite setup (e.g. multiple 550s or 580s). In addition to that, can I have a canon master and 3rd party slaves? or does it not work like that?

I can't use 3rd party flashes on the camera, can I use them as slaves to a master canon speedlite? I know the Godox xPro-C (trigger) with newest firmware works in TTL mode but not in Manual so is there a trigger anyone knows of that can give me TTL AND Manual mode that can work with canon speedlites, 3rd party speedlites, or even both?

I think that's all the questions I have for now..Smiley Happy

6 REPLIES 6

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

You need the Speediliters handbook by Syl Arena, but it is out of print.

You can use any E-TTL2 speedlite on your camera - all the recent ones.

The lack of center pin only prevents older center-pin only non-canon flashes from working. Like my old vivitar.

Any canon trigger will work, I don't know about any others.

Manual mode has nothing to do with the center pin with a canon flash.

I would stick with Canon.