cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

In-camera noise reduction

Harv
Contributor
This question is directed to the technically knowledgeable out there and has to do with in-camera noise reduction settings. Although I'm shooting with a 1D4, I would guess the same would apply to all models. In a nutshell, is in-camera noise reduction (assuming it's enabled) applied to RAW files or just to JPEGs? If it's applied to RAW files (which is all I shoot), have any of you shot RAW with noise reduction disabled, and if so, how were the results? I tried to do a search here on this topic but was unable to find any information. Thanks.
8 REPLIES 8

Skirball
Authority

I'm no expert, but I'm sure that someone will correct me if I'm wrong:

I was told that only the long exposure NR is "destructively" applied to the RAW files.  All the others, like High ISO NR, are non-destructive.  If your editing software is able to read the Canon settings it will apply these, but you could jsut move the setting back to zero.  If the software doesn't recognize them it simply won't have any NR.

Thanks a lot. Much appreciated.

HDCamTeam
Enthusiast
Hi,

Skirball is right. Only "Long Exposure NR" is permanently applied to RAW files. The rest NR options can be turned on or off on your RAW processing software. But 3rd party software will not apply NR in the exact same way than Canon DPP (or won't have some options).

Regards
HD Cam Team
Group of photographers and filmmakers using Canon cameras for serious purposes.
www.hdcamteam.com | www.twitter.com/HDCamTeam | www.facebook.com/HDCamTeam

But in camera Long Exposure NR will make it worst if you're using ISO 1600 or higher (also says so in the manual).
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Weekend Travelers Blog | Eastern Sierra Fall Color Guide

@hsbn wrote: