cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS Rebel T6i/750D LCD On, but Black

jfashe
Apprentice

Hello all. I got a Canon EOS Rebel T6i as a gift back in 2016, and it's been working with slight issues since lasw month. The LCD has just gone blank. Even when I press the menu button (not on Live View), I still get a dim, black screen. The camera itself still functions. You can hear the all system sounds, but can not see anything on at all. I've been working with phones for a couple years now, so my first instinct (when I had the time) was to order a replacement LCD, because I thought it was an issue with the whole LCD assembly itself, causing the LCD backlight to stay on, but the color/display to fade. Replacing the display didn't help at all, and I'm not shipping it to Canon, as there's this Sony I've been planning to buy.

Can anyone please help me with this?

-Josh

6 REPLIES 6

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

@jfashe wrote:

Replacing the display didn't help at all, and I'm not shipping it to Canon, as there's this Sony I've been planning to buy.

Can anyone please help me with this?

-Josh

Sorry to hear that your repair efforts did not bear fruit.  How do you know that your spare part was actually fully functional?

If you cannot repair it, then Canon might be able to repair it.  No one can troubleshoot your electronics via social media, so do not hold high hopes for a solution.  Canon does have an upgrade program for owners of dead cameras that are no longer on their list of serviceable products.

Your threat to jump ship to Sony is laughable.  Go for it.  Sony cameras are not the land of milk and honey that many people believe it is.  Canon has the better lenses, the better AF system, and offers the best service for getting your gear repaired.  Sony cameras are notorious for having short battery life and a tendency to overheat and shutdown.