cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS R5 Noisy Photos

JessSterkPhoto
Contributor

Disappointed! Canon 5D mk IV to R5

I'm a professional photographer, and I'm finding the adjustment from the mk IV to the R5 really disappointing! 

The camera cost me a lot to upgrade to, and the quality just isn't adding up!

I am really struggling with noise levels whilst shooting at super low ISO's (100-250). I pull my images into lightroom, as this is the quickest software for me to run through my workflow, and the noise reminds me of shooting on some of the much older semi-pro DSLRs. 

Are we lacking support for this? I have read Adobe threads and watched videos, and I am definitely not the only one concerned. Is this something they will fix? Or should I be selling this body and heading back to the good-old DSLR's for better high-end quality? 

39 REPLIES 39

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

"Would you be convinced if I made two images in a more controlled setting to demonstrate the changes that the camera makes to the raw file?"

No.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

@JessSterkPhoto,

It would be very helpful if you could provide some RAW images for us to evaluate.  

I assure you the R5 is pure magic.

24mm, f6.3, 1/320, ISO 10024mm, f6.3, 1/320, ISO 100

~Rick
Bay Area - CA

~R5 C (1.0.7.1) ~RF Trinity, ~RF 100 Macro, ~RF 100~400, ~RF 100~500, +RF 1.4x TC, +Canon Control Ring, BG-R10, 430EX III-RT ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~DaVinci Resolve ~Windows11 Pro ~ImageClass MF644Cdw/MF656Cdw ~Pixel 8
~CarePaks Are Worth It

JessSterkPhoto
Contributor

Hey Guys, @rick @peter, everyone who has been so kind and so helpful, I am super appreciative, truly.

The responses have been overwhelming, and I’m definitely not opposed to any help! 

I will share my raw examples when I have a moment to, and you can see what I mean.