cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS R5 Noisy Photos

JessSterkPhoto
Contributor

Disappointed! Canon 5D mk IV to R5

I'm a professional photographer, and I'm finding the adjustment from the mk IV to the R5 really disappointing! 

The camera cost me a lot to upgrade to, and the quality just isn't adding up!

I am really struggling with noise levels whilst shooting at super low ISO's (100-250). I pull my images into lightroom, as this is the quickest software for me to run through my workflow, and the noise reminds me of shooting on some of the much older semi-pro DSLRs. 

Are we lacking support for this? I have read Adobe threads and watched videos, and I am definitely not the only one concerned. Is this something they will fix? Or should I be selling this body and heading back to the good-old DSLR's for better high-end quality? 

39 REPLIES 39

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

I am in agreement with Rick. All my friends, who do photography as a business and have switched love the R5 and claim it is very much better. The EF adapter also seems to make the old lenses better too. I have not switched personally but that is their opinion.

You are shooting Raw? If not you should be and you have the latest Lightroom version? Older LR versions don't support R5 raw files. Another option is to d/l  from Canon DPP4 editor.  

Keep in mind most camera settings do not effect raw files. They do impact the jpg and conversion to a viewable image. The final processing and editing should be done in LR or DPP4. But being a pro you already do that.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

You are usually correct and most settings do not change the raw file. But, if there is any sort of auto exposure being used then it seems to me that peripheral illumination correction and auto lighting optimizer do result in a different raw file depending upon whether enabled or disabled.

---
https://www.rsok.com/~jrm/

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend