cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS M50 Mark II Lens compatibility

Terry_B
Contributor

Hello…I realize that this may seem a rudimentary question but I am interested in purchasing a super telephoto lens for my Canon EOS M50 Mark II camera for nature and wildlife photography. As evident by my posting this question, I am not a professional and as much as I would like to own one, I don’t want to spend $12K on a lens. I saw some 600mm lenses that are recommended for a cost of around $1,000.00-$1,500.00 but I don’t know if they fit on my camera. I am looking for recommendations. Thank you in advance!

8 REPLIES 8

deebatman316
Authority
Authority

Your camera natively mounts EF-M lenses. In order to use EF or EF-S lenses you must use a mount adapter. RF lenses are NOT compatible with your camera. I provided a list of compatible lenses below.

Camera TypeEF Full Frame DSLR (Red Circle Mounting Index)*5 EF-S APS-C DSLR  (White Square Mounting Index)RF Full Frame Mirrorless (Red Oval Mounting Index)*4 RF-S (APS-C) Mirrorless  
Full Frame DSLR & EOS Film SLR ie 5D, 6D & 1D seriesYesNo NoNo
*5 APS-C DSLR Rebel/ XXXD/ XXXXD series & XXD seriesYesYesNoNo
EOS R Series Full Frame ie R6, R5, R8, Yes *1Yes *1 *3YesYes *3
*4 EOS R Series APS-C ie R7, R10, R50 & R100Yes *1Yes*1YesYes

*Natively Mounts No mount adapter needed

* Not compatible won't mount at all, Can't be adapted at all not possible

*1 Compatible with a Mount Adapter 

*3 Image sensor capacity reduced by 2.5x (APS-C lens 1.6x crop)

*4 Note RF-S is NOT a separate mount. Instead its an RF Mount lens with an APS-C Image Circle. "-S" means small image circle meaning smaller than FF or 35mm film.

*5 Note EF-S IS A Separate DSLR crop sensor ONLY Mount. Note early APS-C cameras MUST USE Full Frame EF lenses. These cameras are the EOS D30, EOS D60 and EOS 10D. DO NOT confuse these cameras with the EOS 30D and EOS 60D.

-Demetrius