cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What lens should I buy?

venesa00
Apprentice

Hello all

I'm new to the form and new to DSLR photography; I just bought a Canon 250D earlier this month that came with the Canon 18-55mm f4-5.6 IS STM kit lens.

I've also bought the Canon 50mm f1.8 prime lens and the 10-22mm f3.5-4.5 USM lenses.

I'm going on my first holiday abroad in years in a couple of weeks so I'm considering buying a travel lens. I'm considering replacing my kit lens with the 18-135mm f3.5-5.6 IS USM, but I'm also wondering whether I'd be better to keep the kit lens and get the cheaper 55-250mm lens for the extra versatility (albeit, it's more to carry and less convenient due to swapping lenses).

Since I'm new to this I'm hoping someone will be able to offer some insight at all please? What would people recommend?

A consideration is that I plan to get the 17-55mm f2.8 IS USM lens in the distant future, so I'd be replacing my kit lens eventually one way or the other. Another consideration is that if I got the 18-135mm and found that it didn't have the range that I wanted, I'd probably get the 55-250mm or a 70-200/300 lens of some variant in the distant future too, but I want something for now for my impending holiday.

Many thanks in advance

7 REPLIES 7

rs-eos
Elite
Elite

Tough call.  I think I would lean towards the 18-135mm for the sake of convenience while travelling.

If the type of trip you're on would be more condusive to allow for swapping lenses throughout the day, then a lens with a longer reach would be more beneficial to pick up.  Especially since that would be a better long term purchase.

Do check out these forums for thoughts around the 55-250mm and various 70-300 offerings as you may not be better very good quality.   I have not owned any of these; only the 18-135mm when I had my first DSLR.

--
Ricky

Camera: EOS 5D IV, EF 50mm f/1.2L, EF 135mm f/2L
Lighting: Profoto Lights & Modifiers

Tronhard