cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Stiff Zoom Collar 55-250

Quiet
Enthusiast

I bought a used 55-250 IS II lens from a private seller on eBay. I adore it. The IQ is staggering, particularly for close-ups.

The zoom collar is, though, stiff enough to sometimes rattle the lens mount hole against its locator pin. I don't think the force of this is enough to cause damage but it's slightly worrisome.

Is this a common thing with plastic-bodied zooms? I have no such issue with my 18-55; it's silky smooth. And I happen to love the lightweighting possible with plastic bodies and can happily accept a minor trade-off.

5 REPLIES 5

crisson
Apprentice

I have the 55-250 and the zoom barrel works without a hitch, it turns very easily.  Unfortunately, I am not technically/mechanically smart enough to offer any advice on the issue with your lens.

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

I owned the 55-250 as well as the 18-135 when I had my T6s

Both had slight resistence, the zoom and focus rings had just the right amount of drag.

Hard for me to say whats normal (in this case).  I remember the 55-250 was a liitle stiffer than the 18-135.

Took great pictures.  If something is binding, its not worth fixing.  If it fails, buy a new one.

~Rick
Bay Area - CA

~R5 C (1.0.6.1) ~RF Trinity, ~RF 100 Macro, ~RF 100~400, ~RF 100~500, +RF 1.4x TC, +Canon Control Ring, BG-R10, 430EX III-RT ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~DaVinci Resolve ~Windows11 Pro ~ImageClass MF644Cdw/MF656Cdw ~Pixel 8
~CarePaks Are Worth It

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

@Quiet wrote:

I bought a used 55-250 IS II lens from a private seller on eBay. I adore it. The IQ is staggering, particularly for close-ups.

The zoom collar is, though, stiff enough to sometimes rattle the lens mount hole against its locator pin. I don't think the force of this is enough to cause damage but it's slightly worrisome.