cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New lens vs full frame body

Aprice2016
Contributor

I’m new to photography and have been watching videos and googling info within this forum for hours daily trying to soak up just the basics. I am slowly learning how the three most important settings work together to get clean photos. I use my camera to shoot baseball practice and games  90% of the time approx 5 to 6 days a week. Lighting is still tricky because one minute it’s full sun then the next it’s shade so I have to adjust the settings. I am standing in the back field either behind the fence or within a clear opening. I am currently using the canon eos r7 with a RF 100-400 f5.6-8 I would like to invest a little more into this hobby and trying to decide if I go with a full frame camera vs the R7 that I have or should I upgrade my lens to get better low light photos. The lens I have considered is a Canon EF 70-200 f2.8l as I gifted a new EF lens adapter that fits my R7. Any recommendations, suggestions or insight are welcomed. I have no problem just learning how to use what I have either but I’m willing to look at a different lens too just would like to keep it under $3500. 

6 REPLIES 6

Tronhard
VIP
VIP

Hi and welcome!

I would like to start with asking a few questions to establish what you specifically need to address.   
What do you do with the photos, as regards output?  Do you present these on social media, digital devices or make prints from them?
How does the current focal range of 100-400 fit your needs?  Looking at your images, can you gauge from the focal lengths you most shoot at what range you need - is this how you came up with the 70-200 f/2.8?