cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lenses for Canon AE-1 on Modern Cameras

thatlem
Apprentice

Old shutterbug wants to return

I used to be an avid photographer in the pre-digital age, using a Canon AE-1.  I have a couple of autofocus lenses, including a 300 telephoto lens, and am wondering if they would still be useable for the current line of digital cameras, or if I'm going to have to start from scratch.  If so, are there particular camera's that you could suggest, or is it a matter of a particular mount.

Thanks

Todd

17 REPLIES 17

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

Hi Todd and welcome to the forum:

We have similar roots, I started off with Canon A-1 and Nikon F3 cameras, back around 1980, but have been shooting digital now for over two decades. 

To help you, it will be useful to clarify a few points.
1. What lenses exactly do you have, as specific as possible please to get an idea of the age of them?
It is likely that to get the most from a new camera body, you may have to get more modern glass.  That said, there are a few classics still out there and if budget is limited it will be useful to know what we might be able to re-use.
2. Do you have a particular budget in mind for the camera body and any lenses? 
An actual number is very useful.
3. What subjects do you want to shoot? 
Or alternatively, what focal ranges do you need?
4. What do you want to produce?   
The investment for producing find, print images is likely to be different for simply creating for social media or a digital display device like a TV or monitor.
5. What are you prepared to carry?   
As we get older, or have any physical limitations, lighter more compact gear can be a necessity.