cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lens Recommendations for Sunset and Moon Photography

_abbey
Contributor

Hi!! I am very new to this. I am wanting a lens where I can really zoom in on the sun during a sunset and the moon! I have a rebel t8i. The cheaper the better lol! Than you in advance! 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

amfoto1
Authority

Your T8i came with an EF-S 18-55mm lens, which is a mildly wide, normal and short telephoto zoom lens, all in one.

For sunrises and sunsets, as well as other scenic shots, many people like to use a wide angle lens. Try your 18-55mm at the 18mm setting. Wide enough? If not, Canon EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM is a bargain at $300 (plus the lens hood... $25 or less). 

For birds, other critters and those shots of the moon, you usually will need a telephoto lens. A very good value that's compact and reasonably light weight is the EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS STM, which also sells for about $300 (+$25 for its lens hood). Honestly, though, 250mm will be too short focal length to give much moon detail or get shots of small birds that aren't very close.

Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 first version or II gets you a little more "reach". The current II version sells for $600 new, but the earlier version can be found for under $300 used. There also have been an "L" version that's more robust and a lot more expensive, as well as a "DO" version that uses diffractive optics to be a bit smaller, which used to be quite expensive but has come way down in price on the used market.  

Avoid the EF 75-300mm III. There's a reason it's cheap... it simply isn't all that great a lens. I'd avoid all the EF 75-300mm versions, for that matter.