cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hobbyist Upgrading from 60D to R7—lens advice?

teffe
Apprentice

Hi Everyone! I'm a hobbyist looking to become more serious about photography, perhaps developing my skill set to sell some prints one day. My main interests are (generally from most important to least) wildlife, landscapes, portraits, architecture/city.

To that end, I've decided to upgrade my current gear, both body and lenses. Here's what I have: 60D body; EF-S 18-55; EF-S 10-18; EF-S 55-250; EF-S 24.

I think I've decided to get the R7 (also considering the R6 Mk II, but that seems to be only marginally better for substantial cost increase--open to feedback on body choice, even mirrorless or full frame)

As for lenses, I'm looking for a good beginner set to upgrade what I have, specifically my 55-250mm. It's really slow and I have to jack up the ISO to get decent shots. I know I can use the RF-EF adapter, but I do want to get some better lenses regardless. The goal is to really invest in this hobby, take some classes, and create some pretty good/great landscapes and wildlife photos.

Anyway, fire away with any suggestions you may have!

3 REPLIES 3

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

Given we have no definitive idea of your budget, we may offer solutions you cannot afford, so a $value would be very helpful for a body and optics. 

The first thing to consider is the body platform (Full Frame or Crop sensor) you will work with as that has a profound impact on the optics you will be using.  Full-frame give benefits in terms of dynamic range and noise tolerance, and are better for wide angle work; while crop-sensor bodies are cheaper, are disadvantaged at the wide end, but get a 'magnification boost' at the telephoto end.  They are less tolerant of noise and may have lower dynamic range.  For wildlife, one might well consider that the R7 is the way to go, but...