cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS Rebel Lens Recommendations

jaycieo1
Apprentice

So I take photos on the side for fun. I’m wanting to get more lenses for my Canon Rebel 6 but don’t know what lenses will work. Does anyone know of any?

I take all sorts of photos. Mainly of horses and cattle and some landscape. Love to take portraits of horses, cattle and people on horses. Also starting to dabble in action shots of people riding horses. 
I’m new to camera still so any help is appreciated 

13 REPLIES 13

Given that in a duplicate post (you should delete that), you say your knowledge of cameras is limited, I strongly recommend you take steps to learn the basics of photography.  A dedicated camera requires much more knowledge to use effectively and achieve the potential to generate great images, compared to a cell phone, for example.   Photography comes with its own terminology and learning some of that language is important if you are going to communicate effectively with those trying to provide assistance.

I suggest you invest a couple of hours to watch the following videos:
A general overview of photography with National Geographic photographer Chris Bray:
(2) Learn Photography - Simple, Practical - Free Photography Course 1/10 - YouTube

My colleagues may refer you to other videos and resources, and I encourage you to engage with them.

Given you said there you have an 18-55 and 75-300, if you want better glass you should consider the following:
Lenses that fit the T6 body will have either an EF or EF-S designation.  NO OTHERS WILL FIT THAT BODY.

Consider the EF-S 18-135 IS STM or USM lens to replace the 18-55 - it is faster focus and is a better all-around carry-about unit because of its focal range.