cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EF100-400mm L IS II USM suddenly stopped focussing

MikeMazet
Contributor

I replaced my EF100-400mm first series lens with 2nd series a couple of years ago. I noticed over the last few weeks that focussing had become problematic with the lens failing to focus on the occasional subject (mostly birds among thickets of tangled branches). This seemed intermittent and I was hoping it was the branches that were causing the issue. But, suddenly, overnight the lens stopped focussing altogether, and that's when pointing at clearly defined, uncluttered subjects. I am an experienced photographer and know this isn't down to wrong settings etc. But what can be the cause? Are the motors on these lenses likely to fail after 2 years? The motor still drives the focussing but not every time, and it never achieves focus. After a couple of whirrs it gives up. If it's the motor, is it worth replacing? Anyone know the cost? (I'm in France, so a € price would help.)

22 REPLIES 22

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

Welcome to the forums!  Sorry you are experiencing issues with your gear.

I would like to ask a few basic questions to get a better understanding of your issue so that I can form a baseline on how to troubleshoot your issue.  Seeing how you are a highly experienced photographer, please do not be offended by the simplistic nature of some of the questions that myself or others might ask.  Thank-you, for your understanding and cooperation.

What camera body are you using with the lens?  Did you purchase a new lens from Canon or a Factory Authorized Dealer?  Was it used?

Do you have any filters installed?  If so, remove them.  This lens and UV,CPL filters do not seem to agree with one another.  I think it has something to do with the internal lens coatings.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

Hi Waddizzle.