cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM "repaired" 2 weeks ago, returned and it is still broken...

madshadows
Apprentice

[Removed repair number]

$459 flat fee to repair my lens that would stop focusing at random times.  Very repeatable on my 90D, and the R7. I shipped to CA repair depot, they shipped it to Virginia, then I sent in my 90D. "Tested together"  Came back with a note I had settings wrong and the lack of focus was due to low light. I know how to shoot photos.    I have been using this lens since 2016 for night football photography. It has been on a 70D, 90D and my R7.  Last year the inner lens assembly came apart. Canon repair in CA repaired it and returned it. All good until now.

NOW  a week after "repairing" the lens, it is no longer supported......   Took my money, did not repair and then dropped support.   REALLY?

Matt

4 REPLIES 4

SamanthaW

Hello,

The Canon Community is not intended for direct support from Canon USA regarding complaints or repair issues. We would recommend reaching out to us directly at 1-800-OK-CANON (1-800-652-2666) to discuss your repair and concerns further. 

Thanks!

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

Hi Matt,

All repairs for the same issue come with a 90 day warranty.  Your post is not clear.  "Last year the inner lens assembly came apart"..  got repaired, "all good until now".  So how long has it been?  "Now a week after repairing the lens"?...  I thought it was last year?    Its 90 days from when you got it back.

The mkII is a 13 yrs old lens. 

If the lens is out of its repair warranty and no longer repairable because it is end of life....  try midwestcamera dot com.

~Rick
Bay Area - CA

~R5 C (1.0.7.1) ~RF Trinity, ~RF 100 Macro, ~RF 100~400, ~RF 100~500, +RF 1.4x TC, +Canon Control Ring, BG-R10, 430EX III-RT ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~DaVinci Resolve ~Windows11 Pro ~ImageClass MF644Cdw/MF656Cdw ~Pixel 8
~CarePaks Are Worth It

madshadows
Apprentice