cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Choosing the Right Canon Lens: Factors to Consider and Recommendations from the Community

CarolJenkins
Apprentice

As a photographer, I'm always looking for ways to improve the quality and versatility of my images. I've been using Canon cameras for a while now, but I still feel like I have a lot to learn about choosing the right lenses to achieve my creative vision. With so many different Canon lenses available, from prime to zoom, from macro to telephoto, it can be overwhelming to navigate the technical specifications and decide which ones will best suit my needs.

That's why I'm reaching out to the Canon community for advice. What are some of the key factors to consider when selecting a lens for my Canon camera? How do factors like focal length, aperture, and image stabilization impact the final image quality? And how can I determine which lenses will be the most versatile for a wide range of shooting situations, from landscapes to portraits to action photography?

Furthermore, I would love to hear about specific Canon lenses that you have found particularly useful or impressive in your own photography. Whether you're a seasoned professional or a hobbyist just starting out, I value your insights and recommendations and look forward to learning from your experiences.🙏

4 REPLIES 4

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

What don't your lenses do for you now? What do you prize in your images?

For some people, sharpness is the be-all and end-all, yet others use Holgas and Lens-Babys.

You can use a tool like Photos or probably light room and get an idea what focal lengths you like to shoot at.

I could get by with three lenses: an 18-135 walk around lens, my 60mm macro and my 150-600mm super-telephoto zoom. Each has its place or special purpose.

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

Hi Carol and welcome to the forum: