cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

18-135mm kit lens issue

migraineboi
Contributor

Hi. I'm new to this dslr business so this might not be serious (at least I hope not) I own a 7D I bought from my bro and when I first got it its widest aperture was f4.5 (even though I read online it should be f3.5) and now it won't open beyond f5.0. Im worried cos I can't get required depth of field. Can someone help me out please. Im hoping its a setting I messed up or something and not that the lens is faulty

7 REPLIES 7

amfoto1
Authority

The 18-135mm is an f3.5-5.6 variable aperture zoom lens.

What this means is that at the shortest focal length (18mm), it can be set as wide as f3.5. But at it's longest focal length (135mm), the largest available aperture is f5.6. At focal lengths in between the max aperture becomes progressively smaller as you zoom the lens from 18mm to 135mm.

So, it depends upon the focal length you have set, what the max aperture will be.

Try it at different focal lengths. You should be able to set f3.5 if set to 18mm, and will see that change to f4, f4.5, f5.0 and f5.6 at longer focal lengths. If this is what occurs, the lens is working fine and there is no issue. If the lens truly can't be opened beyond f4.5 or f5.0 at the shortest focal lengths, there might be a problem with  the lens and you should get in touch with Canon service.  

A variable aperture zoom is less expensive to design and build, plus it might give better image quality while being more compact and lightweight. Compare, for example, with EF 24-70/2.8L II or EF 24-105/4L IS, both of which are constant aperture zooms but give less of a range of focal lengths, are larger and heavier, and are considerably more expensive.