cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ImageBrowser EX or Digital Photo Professional

RossK
Enthusiast

Hi,
I've just taken my first photos with a Canon 6D and downloaded the software to edit the pictures before printing.
Could someone tell me please if there will be any difference in the results I get by using ImageBrowser EX's edit function compared to Digital Photo Professional's Tool Palette.
Being a beginner, I'm only going to start by adjusting brightness, tone, saturation, contrast - so do both typs of software do this equally well?

I presume cropping (ImageBrowser) as opposed to trimming (DPP) produces the same results if i put 7 and 5 in the custom size for 7in x 5in prints.

The problem when I tried DPP was that whenever I did change something on the image like brightness and then I clicked Save As, while the new brighter version appeared in DPP, there was no sign of the new brighter version of the image in my original folder which contained all my original pictures in the Mypictures folder, nor was it in the desktop folder. And as I don't print my own images - I upload them on to Truprint's site - it's the Mypictures folder that I use to upload them all to Truprint. So I want any edited images I create to appear in Mypictures

Thanks for any tips

11 REPLIES 11

cicopo
Elite

I rarely use DPP but it's for processing your RAW (CR2) files and when you finish your editing you use the CONVERT & SAVE under the Files tab. This creates a jpg without changing the original file. Once you have the jpg you can use whatever other software you like to crop etc. If you don't use the Convert & Save command you haven't saved your edits into a jpg and therefore can't upload it to the many popular share sites or to get prints etc.

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

Thanks Cicopo.