cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Where to get a filter lens for a EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 lll

grmils
Apprentice

Hi, I’m new to photography and I’m wondering which filter I should buy and where from? I have looked on canon’s website but I noticed that they are expensive, so I was wondering if anyone had a more budget friendly option while still being good quality?

15 REPLIES 15

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

Hi and welcome to the forum:
When you say "filter lens" do you mean a protection / UV filter, or an optic you put in front of your 18-55 lens for macro or other applications?  That is, what you do you want the filter to do?

cheers, TREVOR

"The Amount of Misery expands to fill the space available"
"All the variety, all the charm, all the beauty of life is made up of light and shadow", Leo Tolstoy;
"Skill in photography is acquired by practice and not by purchase" Percy W. Harris

A protection filter

Thanks for that clarification.
Well, it's a cost/risk situation. The EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 lll is a basic kit lens, and relatively cheap (no offense intended), so the question of the viability of a protection filter comes down to the cost.
There is no point in putting a crappy piece of glass in front of any lens, so a really, really cheap filter is problematic from an optical point of view.  However, the more you invest the more it might be worth in excess of the lens.

So, the question is what is the risk. If you shoot under very controlled conditions, probably not worth the investment, but if you are shooting in areas that are dusty, salt air (near a coast) then the risk rises.