cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question about filters

pxbradley1
Enthusiast

I am new to photography. I live on the ocean. Most times in the morning, if the sea is flat, the small waves reflect the sunlight. It's an amazing view. I have been reluctant to take a photo because I would be shooting almost directly into the sun. I would like to filter out the direct sun without taking away from the wave sparkle.

Any suggestions are welcome.

9 REPLIES 9

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

Use the original filter: A hat to shade the sun.

pxbradley1
Enthusiast

Let me rephrase the question. Almost any suggestions are welcome.

rs-eos
Elite
Elite

Choose different angles such that you're not shooting directly into the sun.   Also use a lens hood.

--
Ricky

Camera: EOS 5D IV, EF 50mm f/1.2L, EF 135mm f/2L
Lighting: Profoto Lights & Modifiers

Good idea, but looking directly into the sun is what causes the reflection of the sun on the water. I need to block the sun without losing the reflection.

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

If the disk of the sun is in the camera frame, there is noting you can do. You need to angle the lens so that the sun is just out of the frame, and then use a hat. You could also find a friendly life guard tower or something to block the sun. You could also get a piece of paper or cloth and put it on a stand to put it directly between you and the sun.

Do NOT shoot or leave the camera for any period of time with the disk of the sun shining directly into the camera. Any number of bad things can happen.

pxbradley1
Enthusiast

I should probably have been more specific. I'm looking toward the sun not directly into it. The wave sparkle I'm trying to capture is an early morning reflection off the water. The sun is behind the clouds. The hat idea would work if the sun was overhead, but it's not. My vantage point is the 13th floor of a high rise a 1/2 mile from the ocean. It will take some experimentation but I'll figure it out.