cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon Vixia HF M500 - Videos no longer show up in Apple Photos?

sheahuston
Apprentice

I have been using this Canon camcorder for 7-8 years and uploading my HD videos to my Apple iMac just fine.  I went to upload videos today and they won't show up anymore.?  Only photos show up.  My iMac is on MacOS Monterey v 12.4.  I tried uploading new software to the camera but the Canon site says that's not necessary.  I called Apple and they said it's a Canon issue.  Maddening!  My 10 minute project has turned into hours of troubleshooting to no avail.

Can anyone help??  

6 REPLIES 6

sheahuston
Apprentice

And for whatever reason, my videos show up just fine in iMovie.  The issue appears to be something with Photos.

Nick2020
Product Expert
Product Expert

Hi sheahuston,

Thanks for checking in with us.

If the videos are showing up in iMovie, then that does suggest the issues is program-specific. Newer versions of the Photos app have prioritized photos over videos.

In addition to iMovie, you may wish to look into programs like Final Cut X or Adobe Premiere and Bridge to edit and organize your video clips. Your local Apple store or electronics dealer might have additional software options for you.

Thanks Nick.  I’m confused.  I was on the phone with Apple Support and they indicated Photos is the app for everything - photos and videos.  Has that changed?  Years ago I was told to stop uploading video to iMovie and start uploading them to Photos.  And I was told to port all videos in iMovie over to Photos.  So which is it?  Should I not even be using iMovie?  Confused as to why Apple would require a 3rd party app.  I’m just confused!  : )

Thanks so much for any clarification!