cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Torn Between 70D and 7D

SpiderRyno
Contributor

So all summer I had been waiting to upgrade from my t3i to a 7D, I had been saving pulling money etc. anyway, now they released the 70D, and i've only been into serious photography for a year and a half now. I know the benefits of a 7D(shot with it for a while, borrowed.) Yet, just when I was aobut to purchase it, the 70D comes out of nowhere and I start reseraching, and save the AFpoints, it seems that the 70D is jsut as good, if not eventually better than the 7D(one the mark 2 comes out). I'm unsure, and torn as to which one I should get. I eventually am going to upgrade to 5D mark 3, or that's the hope. At the moment though I'm a college student, so saving that much is hard.

her's a few things I'm considering(the 1 FPS difference doens't matter so much to me.) 

1.Racing

2. Basketball

3. Football

4. portraits

(Top 4 things I shoot)

I also shoot low-light soemtimes, i know the ISO on the 70D(from what I heard) seems to shoot better. though I mean basketball is basically daylight inside. 

Any advice would be great. 

16 REPLIES 16

There's a RAW 8.2 beta that is available for download at the Adobe site.  It supports the 70D RAW.

================================================
Diverhank's photos on Flickr

Thanks Hank. 

I guess the only lsat question I ahve, that I havne't been able to figure out, is why when i either first turn the camera on, or when I switch from auto focus to manual focus, do my camera need me to lightly press the shutter button to let me focus it manually?  

I got the 70D kit with the 18-135mm lens. Just curious. 

I'm not sure what you are asking...are you talking about manual focus by switching the lens to M then turn the ring?  What have you been observing? You can't turn the ring until you press the shutter button halfway?