cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

T6i lens choice help!

Shean
Apprentice

This is my first dslr camera I bought and it came with the standard kit lens(18-55 is stm). I am no professional by any means but what I intend to use this camera for is taking pictures and lots of video footage of weddings (mobile DJ). I have used other lower end cameras before for that purpose so my question is which lens would be best for videos + pictures under low light situations or for that purpose? Usually the ceremony is during the day and reception at night. I usually walk around while recording videos or it just sits on a tripod. Is the lens I have now good or should I look into a wide angle lens like the 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 is stm (but I've read it's not so great under low light conditions) or the the 50mm f1.8 stm standard lens. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated or any videographers who do that type of work can give me some advice on lens choices. Thanks in advance!

4 REPLIES 4

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

"Usually the ceremony is during the day and reception at night. I usually walk around while recording videos or it just sits on a tripod." 

Night and Day.  Those are two very different shooting scenarios, and no one lens will be best at shooting both.  Thankfully, though, you can come pretty close, but it won't be cheap. 

For low light, I would recommend using a wide aperture, f/2.8 or wider, which means a smaller number.  Aperture is a ratio, and the smaller the ratio of one fixed dimension to a variable dimension, then the wider the aperture.  The variable dimension is the aperture opening, and the closer the ratio is to 1:1, the wider the opening, which lets in more light.