cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Electronic Viewfinder VS Optical - Headaches

alyssal
Contributor

I am concerned about the R series camera not having an optical viewfinder option. The electronic viewfinder has caused headaches and nausea for me. I was looking forward to going mirrorless but now I will have to reconsider. What future cameras will still use an optical viewfinder? What options do I have to help this problem? I'm a photographer who has never had a problem like this until using the EVF on the R6ii. Very disappointed if this is how the R cameras will be. I know I'm not the only photographer experiencing this, as there are other forums out there on this issue. What will Canon do to accommodate current Canon photographers who experience this? Is DSLR our only option right now then? Has anyone else experienced this? And what did you decide to do?

10 REPLIES 10

rs-eos
Elite
Elite

Sorry to hear about the headaches.  I think the only thing you can currently do is to provide Canon feedback and encourage others to do the same.

To do so, visit Canon USA Home Page and scroll to the bottom.  It's a bit tricky to find now, but there's a "[+] Feedback" link you can click on (right above the copyright notice).  From there you can choose "Product" and then provide the details to Canon.

I'm wondering if it's the particular refresh rate of the EVF.  Do you also have headaches due to some TVs or fluorescent lighting as well?

--
Ricky

Camera: EOS 5D IV, EF 50mm f/1.2L, EF 135mm f/2L
Lighting: Profoto Lights & Modifiers

I normally don't get headaches from other screens. I did try adjusting the diopter as well. For just family portraits, and some weddings each year, I think I'll have to stick with the 5D IV. If I had to use an EVF for a 10 hour wedding, I can see myself getting a good migraine - and to me it's not worth all the newest technology. I am bummed, but maybe there will be a future solution Canon will produce?