cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon EOS R10 or EOS RP

Thillaishankar
Apprentice

Hi

I am in a dilemma to choose between Canon R10 and RP. 

As a hobbyist, I want to take travel, landscape photos and some portraits of my friends.

I like R10. But as a full-frame camera, RP seems to have an advantage over R10 on paper. 

Is R10 that much behind RP in these categories and low light?  Or will it perform equally with the boost from Digic X and other latest updates?

Thank you in advance.
EOS R10

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

The only downside with the R10 (or any of the crop-sensor R-series cameras) is that they are not full frame.

So with your existing budget, another potential is to spend a bit more on a body and less on lenses.

An EOS R8 (full frame) is on sale for $1,300.  Add on the approx $170 for the RF 50mm f/1.8.  Then, another $400 for the cheaper RF 24-105 f/4-7.1.  Total of around $1,870 (€1,710).  Or if no items are on sale, would be around $2,100 (€1,920)

A full-frame camera will do better in low light.  And, all lenses would have wider angles of view as compared if using them on crop-sensor cameras.  However, a crop-sensor camera will have an advantage in that telelphoto lenses will reach a bit longer.

--
Ricky

Camera: EOS 5D IV, EF 50mm f/1.2L, EF 135mm f/2L
Lighting: Profoto Lights & Modifiers

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

rs-eos
Elite

What is your budget? Do you have any existing lenses? If so, list out their brand and specific model numbers.

--
Ricky

My Budget is around 1000 Euros for Camera and 500 to 1000 Euros for the lenses.

I don't have any lenses. I am planning to get some used EF lenses and use them with adapter apart from the RF 50mm F1.8 lens.
Thank you.

Since you don't have any existing lenses, I would save the $130 on the EF to RF adapter and apply it to RF lenses.