cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question about Quantaray Lens on EOS 5D

dajeau1978
Apprentice

I'm brand new to the Canon EOS 5d.   I just received a Quantaray lens for Canon AF 28-300mm  3.5-6.3 LDO.  It has the EF mount.  The lens does not work in auto, the focus motor runs but does not focus.  When I depress the shutter button it clicks but does not take a picture.  The lens seem to function normally in manual mode.  The camera works fine.  I read that all film EF lens after 1987 should work on DSLR's.  Just seeking  help or am I the victim of some 3rd party lens not compatible to Canon?

4 REPLIES 4

Peter
Authority
Authority

No, not all third-party lenses are compatible with Canon EF.

For example older Sigma lenses with EF mount may not have working aperture with newer Canon cameras. With Sigma there is a workaround at Github:

"Older Sigma lenses with Canon EF lens mounts do not work on newer Canon bodies, because Sigma incompletely reverse engineered the EF protocol and did not implement all required commands. This is a DIY fix using an ATtiny13 microcontroller to modify the protocol, making the lens compatible again."

deebatman316
Authority
Authority

Hi dajeau1978 just because a 3rd party lens says for "Canon EF Mount" doesn't mean it'll be compatible with all Canon bodies especially newer bodies. Canon introduced the EF Mount in 1987 making it the world's first all electronic lens mount. 

-Demetrius

40D, 5D IV, EF 16-35mm F/2.8L III, EF 24-70mm F/2.8L II, EF 28-135mm F/3.5-5.6 IS USM, EF 50 F/1.8 STM

430EX III-RT & 600EX II-RT

-Demetrius

Current Gear: EOS 5D Mark IV, EF F/2.8 Trinity, EF 50mm F/1.8 STM, EF 85mm F/1.8 USM, 470EX-AI & 600EX II-RT

Retired Gear: EOS 40D

Tronhard
Elite
Elite