cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Issues with the EF2.8L 70-200mm USM II lens

lellyk
Apprentice

Hi

I am an amateur however it is a serious hobby and I have been asked to photograph some weddings and decided to invest in this lens.

The results I am getting are shockingly bad.  I understand due to the size of the lens that I must use a reasonably quick shutter speed, however the photos are not sharp.

I have a 70-300 F4 lens which I have been using instead as the results are constantly clear and sharp using the same settings.  The expensive 2.8L gets left at home.  Does anyone know of issues with a particular batch of this lens?  The first one I got fell off my 6D (at a wedding, right at the vows!) and luckily the vendor replaced it, so it makes me wonder what on earth is going on.

Can anyone help with this?

Thanks

Lesley

34 REPLIES 34

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

Post samples of the good and the bad.  Shots taken with one lens, then the same subject with the other lens. 

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

Did the photos from the first one look good, or are the pictures from both bad?  There is no way there would be two shockingly screwed-up 70-200's shipped in a row. If both worked badly for you it is not a problem with the lens. 

What camera?  

What shutter speed?  

Problem exists only only at wide apertures (f/2.8 to f/4), or also when stopped down to f/5.6 or higher?  The depth of field at wide apertures is very shallow, so most of the image won't be in focus; only the point the camera focuses on.  

Are you shooting single point AF or leaving them all active for the camera to choose from?  At f/2.8 you had better shoot with just the center AF point active, and then place that red point over the closest eyeball to you.  That one eyeball may be the only thing in sharp focus. 

Scott