cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is RF100-400 right for me

carvat
Apprentice

Hello, I am an amateur photographer primarily shooting wildlife (mostly birds) using an R50 and 75-300 iii with an adapter. I know the lens is typically regarded as one of (if not the) worst telephoto produced by canon, so anything may technically be an upgrade. But as someone shopping on a tight budget, will waiting on a used/refurbished RF100-400 to go on sale for ~450 or less be the best option? As far as I've found it seems to be the best which can be found within that price range.

4 REPLIES 4

Tronhard
VIP
VIP

Hi and welcome to the forum:

The RF 100-400 is a good value lens and certainly a massive upgrade over the EF 75-300, and its weight and bulk should balance nicely with the R60 body.  The RF 100-400 offers much better optics, larger focal range and reach, and has excellent image stabilization - all of these elements will contribute to making your imagery better.   So, I would suggest that you do wait for a deal on this lens - your budget is not far off with the current Refurb version being $520.  So, if you sold the EF 75-300 for $70 you would make up the difference.
Shop Canon Refurbished RF100-400mm F5.6-8 IS USM | Canon U.S.A., Inc. that said, I am not sure how much lower the price will drop in the current market - that is a decision you have to make.

Here are a couple of reviews on the lens:
Can THIS Lens be ANY Good? | Canon RF 100-400 | SURPRISING Results (youtube.com)

Canon RF 100-400mm Review for Bird and Wildlife Photography (youtube.com)

cheers, TREVOR

The mark of good photographer is not what they hold in their hand, it's what they hold in their head;
"All the variety, all the charm, all the beauty of life is made up of light and shadow", Leo Tolstoy;
"Skill in photography is acquired by practice and not by purchase" Percy W. Harris

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend