cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Birding Lens Recommendations for EOS Rebel T7

Kflo
Apprentice

I’m just getting into the photography world. My husband is a goose hunter and wants me to take photos of the hunts. I have the EF-S 18-55mm and EF 75-300mm lenses. Neither are going to be good for capturing birds flying in. Need recommendations for a lenses that would be good for capturing goose and ducks flying from the sky into the water. Budget around $1,000 USD. 

8 REPLIES 8

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

Greetings,

The best bang for your buck (price point) will be an EF 150-600 mm by Sigma (Contemporary) or Tamron (G2) 

Either of these lenses will provide the most flexibility for Wildlife and BIF.  Note that capturing BIF takes practice.  

~Rick
Bay Area - CA

~R5 C (1.0.6.1) ~RF Trinity, ~RF 100 Macro, ~RF 100~400, ~RF 100~500, +RF 1.4x TC, +Canon Control Ring, BG-R10, 430EX III-RT ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~DaVinci Resolve ~Windows11 Pro ~ImageClass MF644Cdw/MF656Cdw ~Pixel 8
~CarePaks Are Worth It

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

I can only vehemently agree with my respected colleague Rick. If you look in the section in the menu for Gallery and choose Share you photos, you can search for examples of images using those lenses.

He is also right that wildlife, particularly bird photography, has a learning curve and requires practise - lots of it.

cheers, TREVOR

"The Amount of Misery expands to fill the space available"
"All the variety, all the charm, all the beauty of life is made up of light and shadow", Leo Tolstoy;
"Skill in photography is acquired by practice and not by purchase" Percy W. Harris

March411
Rising Star

Right now the Sigma site has the 60-600mm and the 150-600mm in stock. Both are slightly over your target price but may be worth looking at and splurge a little. I own the 60-600mm and love the lens.