cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EF 50mm f/1.8 - Are these Lines normal on lens?

GalletaBoss
Apprentice

IMG_4010.jpeg

IMG_4011.jpeg

I’m new to this world of photography and recently purchased a Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 and noticed this lines on the lens, did I received a defective lens? 

12 REPLIES 12

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

Greetings ,

That's an odd place to see markings like that. A new lens wouldn't come with marks.  While it may not have any effect on the optical quality, I don't know If I'd keep something I purchased with marks like that.  Primality because it might be an indicator of how the lens was cared for previously.  It not an expensive lens, but no one wants a lens that has been mis-handled.  The lens also looks dirty, so I assume it's a used lens, and not new.  If you are going to buy used, I suggest you do so from KEH, Adorama or B&H.  Here you will get a fair market assessment, quality gear and a warranty.

~Rick
Bay Area - CA

~R5 C (1.0.6.1) ~RF Trinity, ~RF 100 Macro, ~RF 100~400, ~RF 100~500, +RF 1.4x TC, +Canon Control Ring, BG-R10, 430EX III-RT ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~DaVinci Resolve ~Windows11 Pro ~ImageClass MF644Cdw/MF656Cdw ~Pixel 8
~CarePaks Are Worth It

I’ve purchased it new through Amazon.

I was doing a little research and found this YouTube Short and apparently those markings may be normal? Here is the link of the short, because compression maybe wouldn’t let you see the details: https://youtube.com/shorts/_ghPH482X1c?si=O1EL_RsQ2EzaH81r

IMG_4012.png

I think the lines are normal, and you have nothing to worry about.

I had a look at some of these lenses on ebay, and many of them have the same lines. My lens doesn’t have the lines, but it must have been a Canon production change, because many EF 50mm 1.8 STM lenses have the exact same lines. 

In this particular lens you can see four marks……

IMG_3135.jpeg

Mike Sowsun