cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rebel T5: Grainy pictures

thunguyen
Apprentice

Hello,

I am a food photographer and I just bought this Canon Rebel T5. I wondered why my photos are still grainy although I tried a lower ISO. For an example, I will show both original and after edit photos. If you zoom in you can see the grains in both photos. Is that because of my camera or anything else I can do to remove it? I also edit remove noise in Lightroom.

Thank you for your support.

IMG_2010.jpg

IMG_2010-2.jpg

6 REPLIES 6

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

The first question is what are your camera and exposure settings?  Noise is usually a sign of high ISO.

I would use a tripod, set the camera to Av shooting mode, dial in ISO 100.  I would even use mirror lockup and the 2 second shutter delay timer.  Use both of them together.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

Also, what type of lighting are you using?  By adding say flash/strobes, you could ensure to shoot with very low ISO values.

Or, since subjects are not moving, definitely look at working with a tripod along with slower shutter values.

--
Ricky

Camera: EOS 5D IV, EF 50mm f/1.2L, EF 135mm f/2L
Lighting: Profoto Lights & Modifiers

Screenshot 2021-03-17 115513.jpg

Tripod would definitely help.

You could even try lowering SS to 1/125 and drop ISO to 400 vs 800.

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

wq9nsc
Authority
Authority

I agree with others that either strobe or tripod is the method to address this issue.

I am assuming the first image was as taken and the second was after edit. It looks like you increased effective exposure in post which to a great extent is like shooting the initial scene at higher iso, you are increasing the noise by amplifying the light value.