Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-20-2015

Re: this function is not selectable in the current shooting mode

Hi,

 

That's what. I am not able to see any such option in advanced modes esp. Manual mode so that I can clear settings. Before this error, I was able to see the option earlier. Please let me know why menu option is not appearing on screen in advanced modes.

 

Regards,

Sameer

VIP
Posts: 8,119
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: this function is not selectable in the current shooting mode

If you can not see the "Clear all settings" menu at all. Take the camera in for service.  You no other choice.

A lot of Canon stuff. Along with, a lot of other stuff.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-20-2015

Re: this function is not selectable in the current shooting mode

Hi,

 

I have submitted my DSLR to the nearest canon service center for checkup. Yet to get update. The only thing they suggested is that not to spend too much money again on this one (I spent good amount for board replacement last year, due to some mositure inside). I might have to go for a new model. Since I have canon and canon compatible lenses, so I might go for 7D Mark II or need to check.

 

I will keep you posted on the progress.

 

Thanks!

 

Sameer

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-11-2017

Re: this function is not selectable in the current shooting mode

I am new to this and not quite sure any of the answers I'm not sure I see how to fix this issue.  I have a canon rebel t5 eos 1200D.

 

I am receiving the message that "The function is not selectable in the current shooting mode" in all the automatic, portrait, flash off, creative auto, landscape, close-up, sports, night portrait.  I have not ventured into any of the manual modes but it appears I cannot take shots using these but receive no message. 

 

I was taking pictures in the automatic setting just fine and then just started receiving this message when I went in to view the pics taken.

 

Any direction would be great for this novice!

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-03-2017

Re: this function is not selectable in the current shooting mode

OK so I had the same problem 'This function is not selectable' yesterday on my 100D and followed the posts (or tried to).  First thing - I also couldn't get to the 'clear all' setting as the menu button didn't work on the P, AV, TV etc modes.  I solved this by taking the battery and memory card out, waiting for 2 minutes, and putting them back in.  When the battery goes back in a red light illuminates shortly - like the camera is reinitialising. After this the menu button worked on the P setting, I could find the clear settings and revert to factory settings.  This didn't help the 'This function is not selectable in the current shooting mode' problem though'. In another post someone had recreated the fault by keeping a button pressed that wasn't valid for the 'auto' modes. That got me thinking that a button may be stuck in.  On close inspection, this was the case - the maginify button at the top right.  I have just used a needle to pull the button back out slightly and the 'This function is not selectable message' has gone away.

Hope this helps someone else

VIP
Posts: 8,119
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: this function is not selectable in the current shooting mode

If you are in the A (full auto) most selections are not available.  That is correct.  That is the purpose of A.  You must be in one of the other modes like P, Av, or Tv.  Everything is selectable in M mode.

A lot of Canon stuff. Along with, a lot of other stuff.
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement