cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wanting to upgrade from EOS Rebel T3i

Amirah
Apprentice

Hi, I am an (27yearsold) amature nature/wildlife photographer, who recently started a small business. I've been doing photography since around 2010, but I never went to college for it.. My Canon camera is an Eos rebel T3i and the lens I have goes 300mm max. I got it for my birthday in like 2012-2013, so I'm pretty outdated..

I'm becoming annoyed with the zoom limit, but EF/S lenses are discontinued and really expensive. So I'm looking into a new camera, but am unsure which one to get and am looking for some help. My budget isn't very high, I can't afford any of the base cameras over $1,500. Ideally I would like to be able to get a kit as those can be a little cheaper. And then work towards the bigger zoom lenses like the RF800mm f11 IS STM(?)

7 REPLIES 7

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

Hi Amirah and welcome to the forum:
It would be helpful to know what lens you have that has a max FL of 300mm: would I be correct in suggesting it is the EF 75-300mm version?  If so, it is one of Canon's least performing unit (IMHO), and you might well benefit from a new optic before anything else.

There are many kinds of wildlife, but for most of them you want a lot of reach.  At this stage, given your budget, I would suggest sticking with the T3i body (unless it is damaged) and investing in a Sigma 150-600c lens to replace the 75-300.   The Sigma has great optics, is relatively light for that focal range and you can often pick them up second-hand in good condition (suggest looking at KEHdotCOM) to see what they have on offer. 
Sample Image: Cotton Top Tamarin
Sigma 150-600@560mm, f/8, 1/50sec, ISO-200Sigma 150-600@560mm, f/8, 1/50sec, ISO-200