cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Aspiring photographer needing help - Seeking the EOS 7D Mark II

Rmbennett30
Contributor

Greetings all, I am practically brand new to this hobby, and ONLY have a Nikon CoolPix 850, so not much if any gear.  I have spent untold hours watching videos and looking at pics you pros have taken, or reviewed products.   I have very limited funds, as I am a disabled vet / retired city worker.  The VERY last thing I want to do is spend money going down one trail of cameras only to find I should have gone another.   I am wanting to focus primarily wildlife photography / bird photography ( as my wife just LOVES Hummingbirds ).   I also for my pleasure want to do some very basic astrophotography of star trails and galaxies.   I have bought books from pros and gotten hours of learning that way but just lack equipment to put it to work.   I am selling my other hobby gear to get a start into this journey but want to go the best way considering what I want to focus on.  I practically set my sights on the Canon EOS 7D mk ii for what I wanted to focus on, however from my 2 days of searching for one, Im finding you cant get them new any more.  I cant quite afford mirrorless at this point, so my question is....   are there any cameras you pros might suggest me to consider that can still be gotten in new or nearly new condition???   I read the 7d mk ii is discontinued and no longer made.  from what I absorbed from my studies, the canon AF system is my best choice, with maybe Sony a 2nd.    I am thinking my beginning budget will be around $1000-$1500 USD to get a camera/lens batteries and cards....    Might I get some suggestions to consider, or maybe a website to find this gear?   Like maybe a buy/sell website you pros use to get or sell you gear at????

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

@Rmbennett30,