cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sports Photography EF Lens Recommendations

Jul123
Apprentice

I am a beginner photographer and I have a basic camera (eso rebel t7). I want to find a reasonable priced lens to help me shoot hockey and lacrosse games. I need a lens that can zoom in and adapt to very bright and low light. Any recommendations? 

2 REPLIES 2

deebatman316
Authority
Authority

What is your budget for a lens. Indoor sports usually require a fast aperture lens due to poor indoor lighting.

-Demetrius

Current Gear: EOS 5D Mark IV, EF 16-35mm F/2.8L USM, EF 24-70mm F/2.8L USM, EF 70-200mm F/2.8L IS III USM, EF 50mm F/1.8 STM, EF 85mm F/1.8 USM, 470EX-AI & 600EX II-RT

Retired Gear: EOS 40D

wq9nsc
Authority
Authority

Any of the Canon lenses that will handle fast action in low light will have no issue handling the same action in bright sunlight so you have to decide/buy based upon performance in low light and this means a fairly wide aperture lens that will be heavier and more expensive.

My most used sports lens is a Canon EF 70-200 f2.8 and it will be with me at every sports event.  I use 2 or 3 camera bodies depending upon the sport BUT a 1DX III with the EF 70-200 f2.8 will always be the primary piece of gear.

Lacrosse and hockey are both fairly difficult sports to shoot because of the speed at which the action moves across the playing area.  It makes it more difficult for the photographer to anticipate where the action will shift and because of this I have to rely more heavily on the camera to "save me" in some situations which means I depend upon the camera to focus quickly when I misjudge what is going to happen next.  Regardless of camera body, a wide aperture lens will provide for faster focus performance because of the additional illumination it provides to the sensor.