cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

5d mk III RAW issue

andreicraciun
Contributor

DPP_output_from_RAW.JPGLR5_output_from_RAW.jpg

Hey, i'm experiencing issues with the RAW files. I think there might be a sensor problem because i tested the original file on another computer and it's the same. Attached here, u have the same raw file exported in Digital camera Proffesional and Lightroom 5.

I'm a professional photographer and every now and then, i get this kind of errors. I usually shoot RAW+JPEG low and the weird thing is that the jpg file out of the camera does not contain any errors, only the RAW file does.

I tested everithing, from different batteries, different cards, different lenses, with/without battery grip and that problem still persists. Every 200-300-400 images one raw file is corrupt.

I cannot afford loosing images. Can somebody tell me if this is a random error everybody gets or is it a service issue and i should get my camera checked right away?

Thanks.

28 REPLIES 28

cicopo
Elite

That's usually a card issue. If the jpg is OK it can't be the sensor & as far as I know the camera converts the RAW data to the jpg

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

Exactly. The RAW is converted as far as i know from the RAW file inside the camera. That's why i cannot explain myself why i keep getting these errors for the RAW files.

Unfortunatelly, i tested around 4-5 cards (all SD) and i keep getting errrors like this. Not often, but enough to be somehow worried. I have no CF card atm. Probably i will buy one and see if the problem persists.

Still, if someone has or had the same problem, i would appreciate if he would tell me about it.

Thanks.